The Right Paper
Daily Mirror on the Web
Monday, March 08, 2004

Front Page

Financial Times

The Sunday Times



Weerasinghe elected President
Gihan Weerasinghe was elected President of the Ratnapura District Cricket Association at the annual general meeting held recently at Nilani Lodge Ratnapura.

The following were elected office bearers uncontested. Patron: Thilanga Sumathipala. Vice Patrons: Gamini Jayasinghe and S.Ramakrishnan. President: Gihan Weerasinghe. Vice Presidents: Damith Batawala, Elmo Suriarachchi, Pradeep Thenuwara. Secretary: Gamini Weerawangsa. Assistant Secretary: Duminda Edrisinghe. Treasurer: Janaka Gunawardena. Assistant Treasurer: Chandimal Jayaratne. Tournament Committee- Chairman: B.A.P. Mendis. Ground Secretary: Rumy Ismil. Committee Members: Bandu Jayanath Hiththitiya, Samitha Artigala, Kamal Sisirakumara. Schools Representative: Susantha Kularatna, Upali Ruwanpathirana.

British School win
The British School scored an easy 6-1 win over Whycherly International School in their under 17 international schools' soccer fixture at Campbell Park recently. At half time the scores were tied at one all.

However, in the second half the boys from British School with better understanding and accurate shooting went into score five more goals.

Results; British School drew with Lyceum 1-1. CIS beat Ikra 1-0. CIS beat Alethea 2-1. British School beat Wycherly 6-1.

Richmond beat Maliyadeva on first innings
Richmond College, Galle beat Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala by 25 runs on first innings in their Lemonade trophy inter- school cricket encounter played at Dambulla recently.

The highlight of the match was an excellent bowling performance by Shalika Karunanayake of Maliyadeva who captured 13 wickets for 76 runs.

Richmond 125 (P. Udara 26; Shalika Karunanayake 6 for 39, E. Ranasinghe 4 for 11) and 123 (W.P.G. Ravindra 40, A.K.Damith 23, Shakila Karunanayake 7 for 37).

Maliyadeva 100 (A. Rajapakse 21; Asith Weerasinghe 3 for 5) and 85 for 8 (W.P.G. Ravindra 3 for 26, Asith Weerasinghe 2 for 16) .

Innings and 30 run win for STC
By Bruce Maurice
S. Thomas' College routed Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda by an innings and 30 runs in their Lemonade Trophy fixture at Mount Lavinia on Saturday.

Continuing from their overnight score of 188 for two wickets, the home side ran up 331 for the loss of six wickets before declaring.

Facing a deficit of 188 runs, the visitors caved in for 158 to give the home side a moral boosting win on the eve of their 'Big Match.'

Dharmasoka 143 and 158 (N.S. Thenuwara 49, W.U. Tharanga 34; V. Balasubramaniam 4 for 35, P. Rodrigo 3 for 34).
S. Thomas' 331 for 6 declared (I. Warnakulasuriya 97, K. Silva 69, Ashan Peiris 67; Y. De Silva 2 for 40, D.A. De Silva 2 for 87).

Veteran's 'A' and Lake House win
The Veteran's 'A' team won the men's segment and Lake House annexed the women's segment of the Veteran's Open Inter Club League TT tournament for over 40 men and women that was conducted at the Royal College Sports Complex recently.

The Men's veteran's 'A' team comprising of M.M.M. Laffeer, Dr. Nimal Lucas and Rajiva Wijetunge beat the 'B' team comprising Jayasiri Ittapana, D.G.M. Bandula and S.S. De Silva.

Lake House comprising Namal Gunasekera and Deepthi Ranasinghe beat Ama Suraweera, Daya Peiris, Ramani Harindranath and R. Rathanapala of Rupavahini Corporation to win the women's championship.

HNB 'A' defeat Singer 7-3
Hatton National Bank 'A' registered an easy seven goals to three win over Singer to enter the MHA 'A' division final at the Astro turf recently. At half time the banker's led 3-1.

Though Singer played a few veterans in their side, they were out of their depth on the artificial surface.

For the bankers S. Vanderlaan, C. Senanayake and S. Gajanayake scored two goals each while T. Peiris scored one goal. For Singer C. Wickramaratne, Lasantha Perera and Suresh Kumar scored one each.

The umpires were M.F. Laheer and D. Wijesinghe while L. Ittapana was the third official.

Commercial Bank into 'A' final

Commercial Bank entered the MHA 'A' division hockey final by defeating Sampath Bank by three goals to nil. At half time Commercial Bank led 1-0.

Despite having several mercantile 'caps' Commercial Bank was able to penetrate the Sampath Bank defence only 10 minutes before the short blast, when M.F.K. Nihamathulla sounded the boards.

In the 44th minute, R. Elahena made it two nil and six minutes before full time, Marlon De Alwis made it three nil for Commercial Bank.

The game was refereed by Ravi Irugalbandara and M.F. Laheer while L. Ittapana was third umpire. -(BM)

Hat-trick by De Rosayro
Dyand De Rosayra of Janashakthi Group, son of former Sri Lanka hockey captain, Dinnis De Rosayro, sounded the board thrice to create a hat-trick against GlaxoSmithKline during their Mercantile 'C' division knock out hockey tournament fixture on Thursday at the Malay ground.

The score before lemons was three nil in favour of Janasakthi Group. The veteran cricketer Ishak Shahabdeen scored the only goal for the losers. At the closing stages Janasakthi Group added one more goal to make it 4-1.

|Front Page| |News| |Editorial| |Opinion| |Financial Times| |Sports| |Features | WNL||

Back to Top

Copyright © 2001 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd. All rights reserved.
Contact us: | Webmaster |

Hosted by Lanka Com Services